Home Forums DNP Professional Growth Understanding Professional Growth Among DNP Students

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Jackie
    Participant

The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) is a terminal degree within the nursing profession. The course for obtaining this degree is focused on preparing graduates to think and practice at the highest level of the nursing practice to have a significant impact on healthcare outcomes through organizational leadership, systems thinking, interprofessional collaboration, health policy, and direct patient care (Giardino & Hickey, 2020). As a current DNP student, I learned the importance of the DNP Essentials for our professional growth. In 2006, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing published the original Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice but recently adopted a new version in April 2021 (Chism, 2023). These eight Essentials lay out the foundational competencies needed for graduates within a DNP program. Luckily, nursing schools can modify how they design their framework as long as they include the Essentials (Chism, 2023). There are competencies in every Essential that are relevant to professional growth to fulfill specific goals within healthcare. Each nurse goes through a process of professional identity within each level of education, from bachelor’s to doctorate, like how every child goes through pre-K to high school. Each education process provides a different learning experience, knowledge, and skills. Professional growth, however, continues beyond the end of our DNP education; it keeps evolving and changing based on experiences and healthcare needs. Nursing has always been a profession that has juggled multiple roles. Being a DNP graduate means ensuring we deliver high-quality, patient-centered care and utilize the necessary avenues to provide that care (Chism, 2023). Understanding and incorporating these eight Essentials is the catalyst to help us learn and gro